fireandfury.com We design wargames for historical military miniatures

Battlefront Official Errata
As of:2012-09-06

Page Rules Section
Card Number
TO&E
Problem Description Fix
 Card/GE-07
2000-08-01
The picture on the card is of a Marder II, not a Marder III.The values on the card are correct, the picture is wrong. We published two cards for the Marder II and III in our late-war supplement.
 Card/RU-08
2000-11-09
The SU-122 on the card was based on the T-34 chassis, but the stats use the heavier armor of the ISU-122.The card as published is wrong. A correction card was printed in the Late-war supplement. The armor is 4/3 and the speed is 14/16.
 Card/US-06
2000-12-28
The M7 Priest is marked as No rear IDF. It has a fixed forward main gun and should be No rear fire.The note should read "No rear Fire". We will probably not issue a replacement note for this change. Purists should note that the Priest does have a .50cal MG and you may have a house rule to allow it to fire to the rear as if it had the armament of US-08 (the M3 1/2 track). However, it may not use its main gun to the rear.
 Card/US-10
2000-12-28
Anti-aircraft weapons have all-around firing mounts. The German AA guns are marked "No Rear Fire Modifier", but those of the other nations are not.Add the note "No Rear Fire Modifier" to the M16 card. We will not issue a new card for this change.
 Card/RU-16
2000-12-28
Anti-aircraft weapons have all-around firing mounts. The German AA guns are marked "No Rear Fire Modifier", but those of the other nations are not.Add the note "No Rear Fire Modifier" to the Russian 37mm AA gun. We will not issue a new card for this change.
 Card/RU-26
2000-12-28
Anti-aircraft weapons have all-around firing mounts. The German AA guns are marked "No Rear Fire Modifier", but those of the other nations are not.Add the note "No rear Fire modifier" to the Russian Heavy AA gun. We will not issue a new card for this change.
 Card/RU-03
2000-12-28
The armor of the T34/85 is not appreciably heavier than that of the T34/76, but from the front the armor value is the same as that of the KV and IS vehicles.The T34/85 card is being changed so that its armor is 4/3 and its speed is less than the T34/76. A replacement card card will be issued for this when we do our supplement.
 Card/US-17
2001-03-11
The U.S. 57mm AT gun is a listed on the card as a Medium gun, but the vehicle assigned to tow it (US-14) is capable only of towing small guns.Add a note "may be towed as small gun" to the US-17 card. This will allow jeeps and the US-14 to tow it as they did historically. This will also apply to the British 6lb AT gun.
 Card/BR-26
2001-07-29
We changed the size of the 25-pdr template after we went to printThe Sexton should place a large template. Use the value in the database. We will fix this in a future card set.
 Card/RU-44
2001-07-29
The Russian 100mm ATG's close combat numbers are incorrect. The 100mm ATG close combat values should be +1 against V and T G instead of +4 and +3. Use the values in the database. We will fix this in a future card set.
 Card/BR-70,72
2002-09-20
The AA ranges on these vehicles should go to the 5 inch range band.Fixed in the unit database, but no new card will be published.
 Card/GE-65
2004-04-02
Mark Holoboski pointed out that Card GE-65 was actually a Pak 43/41, which was the powerful 88mm AT gun on a wheeled carriage. The actual Pak 43 was on a cruciform carriage that allowed it to pivot in all directions.The name of GE-65.1 was changed to Pak 43/41. A new prototype card GE-P44 with a nice picture of a Pak 43 by Todd Heidelbaugh was added. The only difference is that the GE-P44 can fire to the rear (still with fire-to-rear penalties).
 Card/DAK
2010-12-10
Several of the DAK cards (DAK-12,DAK-15,DAK-31) in the Africa supplement had spelling errors in their names. Reported by Gregory GouldCorrection cards are now available in the prototype database
7Rule/Target Type
2003-04-18
Some IDF capable units (example: GE-24) do not have an explicit sV strength.ALL indirect fire attacks, whether fired by on-board or off-board units, will use the TG weapon rating against soft vehicles, even if the unit firing it does not use the TG weapon rating when firing direct fire. All IDF has an implied "sV" target type ability.
10Rule/Order Status
2000-08-01
The description of disordered says that for disordered units, "'displacing' or panic to the rear is a possibility."At some time during rules development, we replaced the term 'displace' with the term 'fall back' when describing forced retreat, but did not get all of the instances in the rulebook text. This description should read that "'falling back' or panic to the rear is a possibility." Displacing is used to describe any movement to the flank or rear (both voluntary and involuntary p.50) as well as a method of moving gun units. Falling Back describes forced retreats. Substitute 'fall back' for 'displace' here and elsewhere where 'displace' is incorrectly used in the context of forced retreats.
16Rule/Spotting
2012-09-03
"One spotting rule that overrides all other rules is that a spotter always sees all targets withing one inch of its position, regardless of terrain." Spotting is done from the front aiming point and "sees" is not proper BF terminology.Reword: One spotting rule that overrides all other rules is that a spotter always spots all targets withing one inch of its front aiming point, regardless of terrain.
18Rule/Suspected
2006-10-27
A unit is spotted by one unit, it is considered at least suspected by all other units of the spotting unit's ME. This has been interpreted to mean that IDF units (usually small mortars) organic to an ME never need a spotter to engage in self-spotted IDF against a target spotted by one of the other units in the ME. However, self-spotting should only be allowed if the firing IDF can see the target area itself.If a unit is spotted by one unit it is considered at least suspected by all other units of the spotting unit's maneuver element." The additional sentence should read: "This does not negate the requirement for a unit conducting indirect fire to trace a line of sight to the target if it is to spot for itself.
18Rule/Suspected
2008-03-13
If a unit is spotted by one unit in an ME, it is then suspected by all other units in the ME. If a previously hidden unit destroys a unit by ambush fire, and no other units from the destroyed unit's ME have a LOS to the ambusher, it could be argued that the ambusher is still suspected, and could then be targeted by artillery.While not explicitly stated, the spirit of the rules imply that a target of an ambush survive the ambush before it can spot targets. Units acting completely independently from the rest of their ME thus cannot convey spotting information back unless they survive.
18Rule/Spotting
2012-09-06
LOS is infinite, but at a certain point a previously spotted unit will just get too far away to see. The definition of HIDDEN does not take this into account, and you nominally can see a previously spotted unit anywhere.Reword the way that units regain Hidden status: "A spotted or suspected unit that moves out of an enemy's LOS or moves to a position where it could not be spotted using all current spotting modifiers becomes hidden." Note that a unit that becomes hidden in this way may trigger opportunity fire under the "disappearing target" rule (p.33). Also note that this does not usually conflict with the rule that firing units are suspected out to the limit of LOS, because units which shoot in their offensive fire phase may not voluntarily move.
19Rule/Spotting
2012-09-04
The rule states "If a spotter sees a firing target it continues to be spotted as long as both units do not move." This can lead to an ambiguous situation if a spotting check is made during an target's ongoing movement, but the player does not explicitly make a later check after the target has finished moving. Since the target moved, is it still spotted? For example, a moving troop unit is spotted at 20" in the open (normal spotting 10", up one for movement) as it starts its move but then continues to move in the LOS of the spotter until it is 15" away. Technically, if the spotter does not do another spotting check at 15", it could be argued that the unit was not spotted in its new position, even though the target was previously spotted and could be spotted in its final position as well.Our assumption was that spotting was continuous throughout the turn and that once a spotter spots a moving target, it continues to do so throughout the rest of the target's move, without the player having to continuously perform spotting checks. However, to make this a little clearer, change the wording to read: "If a spotter spots a target it continues to be spotted as long as both units do not move OR the spotter does not move and the target does not move to a position where it cannot be spotted, regardless of a change in modifiers." In the problem example the target would be picked up at 20" and then watched as it finished its move. Even if the target stopped moving in subsequent turns, making the nominal spotting distance drop to 10" for troops in the open, the spotter would continue to spot it. Note if the spotter moved in a later turn, spotting might be lost, because the spotting check would need to be redone, and the "moving" modifier might not apply.
20Rule/Spotting Modifiers
2001-01-07
A slight rewording of the Target Obscured modifier is needed to show that spotting through multiple smoke templates is not cumulative.The text should say "Shift down one if the LOS passes through one or more barrage or dissipating smoke templates, or two if the LOS passes through one or more smoke templates or knocked out vehicles."
21Rule/Edge vs Deep
2000-10-25
The rule on page 21 states that "A unit is considered on the edge of concealing area terrain if all four aiming points are inside the area and the unit's FRONT conforms to the edge of the terrain feature". It is possible to have your flank or rear conformed to a terrain feature as well. The rule should read "A unit is considered on the edge of concealing area terrain if all four aiming points are inside the area terrain and any one side (front, either flank,or rear) conforms to the edge of the terrain feature." Note that unit's LOS is determined from its front aiming point (Field of Observation p.16). If a unit is positioned so that its flank is conformed to the edge of area terrain, its front aiming point is probably inside the area. In the case of dense concealment, this will mean that it will be spotting using the deep ranges instead of the edge ranges, but will be spotted using the edge ranges. Our tactical advice is to conform to the edge of terrain with the front of the unit, and when moving through dense area concealment, do so with the entire unit inside, so that your opponent uses the deep range.
26Rule/Indirect Fire
2000-08-15
The restrictions on p.26 for indirect fire specify that a unit which wishes to use indirect fire may not have engaged in anti-aircraft fire (phase 1d), opportunity fire (phase 2), and defensive fire (phase 3) in the previous opposing player turn. The idea behind these restrictions is that a unit which is engaging in defensive combat is too busy to conduct indirect fire. These restrictions do not list close-combat (phase 4) which is another type of combat that occurs in the opposing player turn.Add the following restriction: If a unit is the target of a close-combat attack (phase 4) in the immediately preceding opposing player turn, it may NOT engage in Indirect fire combat. Note also that the rules on emplacing (p.49-50) require that a unit that engages in direct fire combat emplace again before it can IDF if it has the "emplace to IDF" restriction. This rule actually is more restrictive than those on p.26 and already specifies that a unit must re-emplace if it engages in CC.
26Rule/Observers
2000-11-09
According to a strict interpretation of the rules, a unit that conducts antiaircraft fire, opportunity fire or defensive fire during the enemy play turn would not be eligible to act as an observer for indirect artillery fire during the next friendly player turn. This contradicts the detailed fire combat example on page 28 - 29. In this example the German machinegun unit X conducts defensive fire in the US player turn and then observes for the German mortar Z in its own player turn. The confusion comes out of the interpretation of the word 'initiate' on page 26 in the paragraph under the Indirect Fire heading. "Attacks are initiated with a call for fire support . . ." and "Eligible units that did not conduct antiaircraft fire, opportunity fire, or defensive fire in the previous opposing player turn, may initiate and conduct indirect fire on their own player turn." Also, on page 36 in the paragraph directly above the Level of Support heading "An observer must be able to trace an unobstructed LOS to the target in order initiate a call for fire support." If one assumes that observers are the initiators of indirect fire attacks, then observers would not be able to initiate direct fire attacks if they engaged in combat on the previous player turn. The rule should have been written more clearly so as to address observers. Our intent was to prohibit indirect fire units from participating in fire missions if they were involved in some other combat the previous player turn. It was probably a poor word choice to say that indirect fire units 'initiate' fire support missions, as clearly, the observer is the one who initiates the action. The indirect fire units 'conduct' the mission. The bottom line is that an observer CAN call for fire support, even it had fired in the previous player turn. The example of play is correct.
29Fig. Fig 24d/16
2003-02-10
The text for example 16 says that "The Modified Result of 4 suppresses..." When you add up all of the modifiers the result is 7.The text should say "The Modified Result of 7 suppresses...". Found by Andreas Kittendorff
31Rule/Firing through Units
2001-08-28
A hidden unit is in a position where it would normally block line-of-fire to a spotted/suspected unit behind it. What effect does the hidden unit have in this situation?The Line of Fire is not affected by hidden/unspotted units.
31Rule/LOF
2011-02-06
When firing at a target in a firing unit's rear arc, the LOF traced from the front aiming point necessarily goes through the firing unit itself. It would seem that this might block LOF or keep a unit from having the clear 1" gap necessary for a clear LOF.A firing unit cannot block its own LOF. Trace the LOF from the front aiming point of the firing unit as if the rest of the firing unit was not there.
32Rule/Jabos
2000-11-02
The Fire Combat Chart lists the Jabo modifier as -2, but the rulebook on p.32 lists it as -1The Fire Combat Chart is correct. The Jabo modifier is -2
34Card/Enfilade
2012-03-12
There are several units which have their weapons mounted to shoot to their rear (the British Archer BR-17 and several of the Truck AT gun portees). While their cards specify that they can conduct rear fire only, it is unclear when they should be considered enfiladed for fire combat, opfire, and Close Combat purposes.Rear facing units (RFU) enfilade rule exception. 1) While moving, or if their last action in the previous turn was a forward movement, enfilade against RFU is calculated against the front facing, otherwise it is calculated against the rear facing (the facing of the gun). 2) In one turn, if an RFU conducts a forward movement action followed by a "change facing" action, it is not be considered enfiladed for opportunity fire while changing facing. If it is pivots before movement, from a position where it starts its move enfiladed, it can trigger op fire (these units should not be able to pivot out of danger). 3) Hull down positions for RFU are established using the rear facing. Note that these units (which are fortunately relatively rare) will occasionally be in questionable situations which need to be resolved using common sense. Basically consider the direction in which the unit's attention is focused to determine whether it is enfiladed. If it is moving cross- country, its attention is focused forward. If it is in action, its attention is focused backward.
35Rule/Call for Fire
2000-08-01
Step 5 says 'Unsuccessful attempts to lift or ease firing...'It should say 'Unsuccessful attempts to lift or cease firing...'.
36Rule/Observers
2001-01-03
A player was assigning multiple observers to a single fire mission. When one failed to call the artillery, another tried. This was not the intent of the rule, although it is not strictly prohibitedMake the following addition to the Last Paragraph of the observers section of the rules on p.36: "A single fire mission may have only one observer assigned to it. Thus only one call-for-fire roll may be made for a fire mission during a turn."
36Rule/Organic Support
2001-12-02
Fire Support Elements in Organic Support are essentially members of their parent organization. Although it is implied that they cannot support other organizations, it is not explicitly stated. Organic Support artillery units should be restricted to supporting their own maneuver element or battle group.If an on-board artillery unit is attached to a maneuver or headquarters element, only units of that element may act as observers for that unit. If a fire support element is attached to a battlegroup, only units of that battlegroup may act as observers for that unit.//Example-German Infantry Battalion BG-10 p.72: Any unit in the infantry battalion may call for the support of the FS-01 heavy mortar platoon, which is an Organic fire support element attached to the battlegroup. The 3 80mm mortars must be explicitly attached to either one of the infantry companies or the HQ element. Once that attachment is defined, only members of that element can act as observers.
37Fig. 35
2000-08-01
The off-board artillery die roll modifier makes no distinction between armored and soft VehiclesInstead of "vs V/TG", the die roll modifier should read "vs V/TGsV". Use the TG weapon rating when resolving any IDF attacks against soft vehicles, whether fired by on-board or off-board units.
38Fig. 36-41
2001-01-03
Throughout the artillery figures, references are made to 1-gun sections, 2-gun batteries, and 3-gun batteries. What does the term gun mean.Clarification: "Gun" in these examples means a single gun STAND (for on-board artillery), or a single component of an off-board fire support element representing a single gun STAND. Each of these is capable of placing a single indirect fire template. It does not refer to physical guns, as each gun stand may represent several real guns because of the scale of the game. For example, the U.S. Fire Support Element-01 (p.61) modified by the errata below consists of 3 "2-gun" 105mm batteries in direct support an a "2-gun" 155mm battery in general support. There are actually 4 tubes in each of the batteries. To make it clearer, it might have been better to say 2-template batteries.
38Rule/Beaten Zone
2010-05-08
The rules say "One indirect fire attack must be resolved against each unit, both friendly and enemy, within the zone". To clarify, each unit within the zone is attacked with a separate die roll and combat resolution procedure. If 4 units lie within the zone, you will calculate modifiers and roll the die 4 times to resolve combat.
41Fig. 43
2000-08-01
Figure 43 is mislabeled 'Concentration Mission'. Reported by Chuck HamackFigure 43 should be labeled 'Barrage Missions'. It shows the size of the beaten zone of barrage missions of various sizes. Concentration missions are properly explained in figure 41 on p.40.
41Rule/Time-on-Target
2001-11-20
With the correction to the U.S. Artillery TO&Es, with the possiblity of different sized batteries joining in the attack, time-on-target attacks are difficult to calculate.The method of calculating TOT attacks will be changed to the following. 1) Count all of the templates participating in the attack. 2) Divide this total by 3 and round UP. This will give the base modifier of the TOT attack. 3) Add this modifier to the strongest artillery in the attack to calculate the actual die roll modifier.////Example. A FS-01 (Medium Artillery Battalion) consisting of 3 x2 template 105mm batteries in Direct Support and 1 x2 template 155mm Battery in general support (a total of 8 templates) combines with a U.S. FS-03a (Self-propelled Medium Artillery Battalion) of 3 x3 template 105mm batteries (9 templates). The U.S. player makes his General Support roll so the 155mm arrive. A total of 17 templates combine in the attack for a time-on-target modifier of +6. This is added to the base attack strength of +1/+2 for the 155mm howitzer (the strongest artillery in the attack). The die roll modifier will be +7 against V and +8 against T,G,sV (ouch!!). Fortunately for the Germans, this much artillery is rarely present in a scenario. A more typical TOT attack will have 8 or 9 templates and thus will receive a +3 modifier to the base artillery attack strength.
46Rule/Maneuver Actions
2000-08-01
The description of the check for a hull down position on P.46 says that the hull down check may be performed twice during the maneuver phase. The description of going hull down on P.54 says that a hull-down check may be performed only once even if the unit has two actions.P.46 is incorrect. The hull down check may be performed only once during each maneuver phase. The rule description of the check for hull down on p.46 should be changed to say that "The action may be performed only once during the phase". Note that if a unit has two actions available, it may elect to perform some other action before the hull-down check. A hull-down check cannot be combined with involuntary actions or actions such as "declare overwatch" that state that they are the only action allowable in the phase.
46Rule/Rapid Advance
2002-06-11
On P.46 the definition of Rapid Advance is contained in the list of Maneuver Actions, implying that an RA is a separate type of Maneuver. A strict interpretation of this rule would allow a player to perform up to two rapid advance actions, thereby moving 4 times. This impression is not contradicted by the description of RA on p.49. However, this was not the intent of the designers. As is stated on p.48, "A unit with two actions can also conduct a Rapid Advance, allowing the unit to move twice during the maneuver phase". A unit may move a maximum of twice in a turn (although it MAY use primary road speed in both movement actions).A rapid advance is not a separate type of action in itself, but occurs when a unit performs two movement actions as opposed to one movement and one other type of action. A unit may move a maximum of two times in a turn, using the "Move at cross-country or road speed" for each of its actions.
47Rule/Battle Casualties
2005-12-01
The rule on battle casualties says When the total of knocked out units in the element "exceed"...Change "exceed" to "equals or exceeds". When exactly 25, 50, or 75 percent of the element is knocked out, it incurs the penalty.
48Rule/Hold Position
2003-02-10
The rule says that on a modified 0 the unit must displace 2 actions if it not already in cover. The maneuver chart says it must Fall Back for 1 action. Found by Andreas KittendorffThe maneuver chart is correct. The unit must fall back for one action instead of two (note that displace is used incorrectly here instead of "fall back").
48Rule/Hold Position
2004-02-05
Not enough emphasis is placed on the fact that Hold Position is the ONLY action that can be performed if you fire or call-for-fire in the Offensive Fire phase.This is not really an erratum, as the rule is correct as written. However, as this is the only place it is stated, it is often overlooked. This rule is extremely important, as it gives a firepower advantage stationary units (which can fire twice in a full game turn-once during offensive fire in the friendly turn and once during defensive fire in the enemy turn). If you want to move a unit, you must give up its ability to fire during the friendly turn.
48Rule/Movement
2012-09-04
The rules don't explicitly state that friendly units can move through each other and also does not prohibit friendly units from ending on top of each other. Note that this also effects road movement (p.49) and movement through defiles (p.33)a) Except at a defile, units may move through friendly units and wrecks without penalty at cross-country speed as long as they have sufficient movement to move completely beyond the friendly unit/wreck. They may not stop on top of another friendly unit or wreck. b) Except for armored vehicle units conducting overruns, units may not move through enemy units under any circumstances. c) Vehicle units and guns using road movement may not move through other friendly vehicle or gun units at road speed. Troop units do not effect the use of road movement of other units, except that no units may stop on top of another friendly unit. d) Wrecks and friendly vehicle units effect movement through a defile as per the Terrain effects chart for knocked out units. Note that since units move one at a time, a blocking unit could move out of the way allowing others to pass, but if a vehicle unit moved into a defile and stopped, it would impede the movement of units behind it.
50Rule/Displacement
2006-03-20
Displacement is movement to the rear. Is displacement considered movement for spotting? Are two displacements considered a "rapid advance" that can trigger opportunity fire?Displacement is considered movement for both rapid advance and opportunity fire purposes.
50Rule/Panic/Fall Back
2007-02-13
It is unclear what happens to unlimbered but not emplaced guns that panic. Emplaced guns are knocked out, but there is no reference to guns that are unlimbered but not emplaced.Unlimbered but not emplaced guns are treated identically to emplaced guns. If forced to panic, they are destroyed, if forced to fall back, they may do so according to the rules which govern emplaced guns.
53Fig. 63, 64
2000-08-01
The Minefield passage and Bail Out tables do not have figure numbersThe minefield passage table should be labeled Figure 63, while the bail out table should be labeled Figure 64.
53Rule/Bail-out
2001-01-03
What happens to towed guns when their transport unit is destroyed.Clarification: The bail-out rule was designed to apply only to T class units. "Officially", guns which are being towed are destroyed when their transport is destroyed. However, it does not upset the design of the game if players wish to adopt a house rule to allow bail-out rolls for light guns (those capable of movement without towing) with a -2 modifier on the bail-out table.
53Rule/Tank Riders
2011-04-09
The procedure for attacking Tank Riders with IDF is unclear.Tank riders are attacked with a separate die roll. If the tank is suppressed, disordered, or knocked out, the tank riders roll for BAIL OUT in addition to the IDF attack roll. If the tank is unaffected by the IDF and the tank riders are suppressed or disordered they DISMOUNT immediately from the tank. There is no BAIL OUT roll. Tank riders that are targeted separately by DIRECT fire must also dismount if they are suppressed or disordered by the attack. The reason for all of this is that the BAIL OUT roll is show what can happen to troops that dismount from a vehicle that is damaged by or under effective enemy fire. DISMOUNTING is getting off a vehicle that is not affected by enemy fire. See http://www.fireandfury.com/extra/tankriders.shtml for a summary of the tankrider rules.
53Rule/Mount/Dismount
2005-04-28
When dismounting in a Built-up Area, can troops dismount directly into a Built up sector?If, after dismounting from a vehicle, the front aiming point of the dismounted stand is inside a built-up sector while any part of the stand is still touching the transport vehicle, you may pick up the stand and place it in the built-up sector, conforming to any one of the four sides in the same way you would if you had moved the stand into the sector on foot.
54Rule/Overrun
2000-08-15
The rule says that the unit must be in open ground to be overrun, including below ground features such as gully, ditch, and bank. However, according to the terrain effects chart (last page of the rules), gully, ditch, and bank features are not open ground, but are linear obstacles requiring a breach and possible bog-down checks for vehicles to pass through.The rule is incorrect and Overruns may only be conducted in open terrain. Improved positions and trenches located in open ground may be overrun, but units in other below ground features may not. The rule should read: "A unit must be in open terrain in order to be overrun, including below ground features (improved postion, dug-in) set in open terrain."
54Rule/Overrun
2000-08-15
ClarificationAn overruning armored vehicle does not need to stop after conducting an overrun. It may overrun multiple units in the same turn as long as it has sufficient movement to do so and is not stopped by opportunity fire.
54Rule/Overrun
2000-12-28
The rules state that an overrunning unit must move through a troop unit to overrun it. How much of the troop unit must be covered for the overrun to take effect.Clarification-The path of the overrunning unit must cover at least one aiming point of the target troop unit.
54Rule/Close Combat
2006-03-20
The conditions listed for CC state that a unit must end within 1 inch and facing toward an enemy unit or BUS. Technically, since infantry unit stands are only 7/8 inch deep in our standard mounting, this would allow units to line up two deep and assault "in column". You could also assault "over" a front line unit to one that was immediately behind.This was not the intent of the rules. Add the additional requirement that an assaulting unit must be able to trace a line of sight unobstructed by friendly or enemy units to the target of the close assault.
55Fig. 68
2000-08-01
Figure 68a shows American unit X as unsuppressed in figure 68a, but suppressed in 68b and the explanatory text. How does it become suppressed?American unit X should start the example suppressed and a suppressed marker should be present in diagram 68a.
55Rule/Close Combat
2004-10-25
Although the rules state that Close Combat may be initiated after a breach action, they do not say that a breach action is required.If a player wishes a friendly unit (of any type) to enter close combat with an enemy unit and an obstacle that requires a breaching action seperates the two, the attacker MUST spend a movement action to breach that obstacle, even if the two units are within one inch of each other. If the attacking unit does not have the required movement action to spend, it may not declare close combat. Notice that this applies to any unit that the terrain effects chart indicates must breach the terrain in question.
55Rule/Close Combat
2008-07-10
The explanation of the CC procedure on page 55 suggests that all the modifiers are meant to apply to the die roll. However, on page 56 it explicitely states that the -2 modifier for vehicles vs. troops in concealment modifies the armored vehicle's CC rating and cannot be less than 0.The explanation on the CC procedure should include that the -2 modifier for vehicles vs. troops in concealment is the only modifier that is applied to the CC rating rather than the die roll.
56Rule/Close Combat
2000-08-15
Figure 69b shows the defender choosing which attacker is eliminated, but the description of the Knocked Out result in the "Close Combat effects" section of the rules on the same page says that the attacker with the highest modified die roll is knocked out.The figure is correct. The rule should read "When there is more than one unit in the affected force, the opposing player chooses which unit is knocked out".
56Rule/Close Combat
2001-01-07
A unit declared a close combat during the maneuver phase, but its target was knocked out by overwatch fire. Technically the close combat does not occur, can the attacking unit occupy the defender's position? Addition-If the target of a declared close combat is knocked out by overwatch fire before the combat occurs, resolve the close-combat as if the attacking units had scored a "knocked-out" close combat result. The attacker may occupy the defender's position. The rationale is that the overwatch fire was part of the overall assault on the position. The attacking units were ordered to assault and take the position and they would not stop just because resistance had ceased.
60TO&E/US ME-05
2000-08-01
Research showed that U.S. Armored Infantry were more liberally supplied with bazookas in 1944-45 than were other U.S. infantry. - Reported by Dave FranklinFor the U.S. Maneuver Element - 05 (Armored Infantry Company), 6 of the 9 infantry stands may be considered armed with bazookas instead of only 3. 3 of the infantry are armed with rifles only. The U.S. ME-06 Infantry company remains unchanged and only 3 of 9 may be armed with bazookas.
61TO&E/US Artillery
2001-11-20
Most U.S. artillery batteries and battalions are based on 4-gun batteries instead of 6. As each U.S. template is placed by 2 guns, this should be represented by 2 templates instead of 3. Investigation showed that Self-propelled 105mm howitzer battalions and cannon companies were based on 6-gun batteries so they should continue to place 3 templates.FS-01 Change all x3 templates to x2. The battalion consists of 3 2-template batteries of 105mm in Direct support and a 2-template battery of 155mm in General support.//// FS-02 Remains the same. The cannon company had 6 actual guns which equates to 3 templates.//// FS-03 Change all x3 templates to x2. The FS-03 listed as Divisional Attachment to BG-04 should be this modified organization.//// FS-03a Add a new organization SP Medium Artillery Battalion that has 3 batteries of x3 templates of 105mm Howitzer each. The FS-03 listed as a Corps Attachment to BG-01 should be this new organization. note that the US FS-01 attached to armored combat command should really be an FS-03a in Direct support.//// FS-04 Change all x3 templates to x2.//// See also the new method for calculating time-on-target attacks. ////Finally, note that the regimental cannon companies (FS-02) were often incorporated into the divisional artillery in 1944. If this is done, the original FS-01 organization of 3 batteries of 3 templates can be used. However, the cannon company personnel was often used as infantry, so the standard artillery battalion organization should be 3 batteries of 2 templates.
78Scenario:Marnach
2000-08-01
The 6th and 7th German Panzergrednadier Co. are labeled "same as 1st Panzergrenadier Co.", but there is no 1st Panzergrenadier Co.The 6th and 7th companies should be the same as the "5th Panzergrenadier Co.", which is the first company listed on the page.
78Scenario:Marnach
2000-08-01
The description of the scenario says that up to 5 German tanks can arrive, but the reinforcement chart lists a maximum of 4. Also, the OB chart says that the tanks are Panthers, but the card listed is GE-03, which is the card for the PzKpfw IV.The Germans receive a maximum of 4 Panthers. Use card GE-04, not GE-03.
78Scenario:Marnach
2007-10-06
The Marnach scenario doesn't specify what type of BUA (stone/wood), the buildings are.The buildings are stone

Top of page

Home Page


Site Link List (for Javascript/CSS disabled browsers)